Edmonton Music Awards announce nominees for June 28 gala

first_imgArtist to WatchJasmine SinghKing of FoxesLia ColeTalltaleThe Denim Daddies Male Artist of the YearJosh SahuntaJustin HoggMartin KerrMike DomineyRellik Besides Striker, Group of the Year nominees are Derina Harvey Band, nêhiyawak, The Dungarees and Whale and the Wolf.The night of seven live performances and 27 awards will be held June 28 at Winspear. Red carpet will be at 6 p.m., the show kicking off at 7:30 p.m.Joining Cardinal in the race for Female Artist of the Year are Lindsey Walker, Lyra Brown, Mallory Chipman and Olivia Rose. Josh Sahunta, Justin Hogg, Martin Kerr, Mike Dominey and Rellik are on deck for Male Artist of the Year.For Album of the Year, it’s between Cardinal’s Everything and Nothing At All, Walker’s This Desolate Bliss, self-titled albums each by Striker and the Dungarees, and the Royal Foundry’s Lost in Your Head.This year’s program sees three new categories covering instrumental, francophone and Latin music.A Legacy Award will be announced soon, and you can vote for the People’s Choice award on the Edmonton Music Awards site.The hilarious Bridget Ryan will host the gala once again, and tickets are available starting at 10 a.m. Monday through the Winspear Box Office.@fisheyefoto Dance/Electronic Recording of the YearBrother Octopus — On My Own (feat. Soft Violence)Iamhill — On CameraLaur Elle — FadeRIELL — Eye to EyeShaker Thief — Chemical Striker is up for five EMAs. SUPPLIED2018 Edmonton Music Awards nominees:Album of the YearCeleigh Cardinal — Everything and Nothing at AllLindsey Walker — This Desolate BlissStriker — StrikerThe Dungarees — The DungareesThe Royal Foundry — Lost in Your Head Female Artist of the YearCeleigh CardinalLindsey WalkerLyra BrownMallory ChipmanOlivia Rose Group of the YearDerina Harvey BandnêhiyawakStrikerThe DungareesWhale and the Wolf Rock Recording of the YearKane Incognito — Young & AbleOn the Frontline — WallsThe Royal Foundry — Never Have TimeWares — What You WantWhale and the Wolf — Touch Instrumental Recording of the YearAudrey Ochoa — AfterthoughtBardic Form — LonghornDefend the Rhino — When Kids PlayStephanie Urquhart — Os-TomatoThe Faceless Pianist — Before Time Blues Recording of the YearBoogie Patrol — Man on FireDanielle Dayton — RunDylan Farrell — StrangerLusitania Lights — ClassicsOld Jack Tap — Ain’t Gettin’ Any Better Twitter Login/Register With: Country Recording of the YearAndrea Nixon — Song Without a NameBrenda Dirk — Shades OnEl Niven and the Alibi — Next To MeOlivia Rose — Hometown SundownsThe Dungarees — Anywhere With You Advertisement Pop Recording of the YearCarter & The Capitals — Get DownHigh Love — No Longer YoursLaur Elle — FadeLyra Brown — A Little Vulture Told MeThe Royal Foundry — All We Have Roots/Folk Recording of the YearAyla Brook & the Sound Men — Break Up SongsCeleigh Cardinal — There Ain’t No WayMark Times — SaskatchewineRebecca Lappa — Valiant of VimyVISSIA — Mountaineer Advertisement Facebook Music Video of the YearIamhill — On CameraKelborne — CavalierLetters From Pluto — Cold Right Now (Redekopp Remix)Lyra Brown — A Little Vulture Told MeStriker — Former Glory Jazz Recording of the YearAudrey Ochoa — AfterthoughtMallory Chipman — Tune for the TroubadourQuarto & Sound — Movement 1Rubim de Toledo — The GapStephanie Urquhart — Os-Tomato Metal Recording of the YearAll Else Fails — Beneath the WavesJuliet Ruin — Ugly SideSilence the Machine — BreatheStriker — Former GloryThe Order of Chaos — Night Terror Indigenous Recording of the YearCeleigh Cardinal — There Ain’t No WayKristen McArthur — Haters Choralenêhiyawak — Disappear Rising Star (18 and Under)Amanda Penner — Beautifully Ruined (Don’t Want to be Found)Dylan Ella — Ghost BoyKeltie — Someone Tell HerKrissy Feniak — Mess With MeRareflower — Skunkbag One thing about the Edmonton scene: the municipal sound is not easy to pigeonhole — further proven by the just-announced Edmonton Music Awards nominees.On that topic of crossing genres, it’s definitely a good year to be powerhouse singer Celeigh Cardinal, who is up for seven EMAs, including Album, Female Artist, Single, Indigenous Recording, Singer/Songwriter and Roots/Folk Recording of the year — plus the online-voted People’s Choice Award.On the other side of the sonic planet, meanwhile, crisp and raucous metalhead Striker is up for six prizes. including Album, Single, Group, Metal Recording and Music Video of the year, and with 78 other local acts. is also up for the People’s Choice popularity click-and-vote. Single of the YearCeleigh Cardinal — There Ain’t No WayScenic Route To Alaska — Slow DownThe Royal Foundry — Never Have TimeStriker — Former GloryWhale and the Wolf — Touch Adult Alternative Recording of the YearCeleigh Cardinal — There Ain’t No WayDana Wylie — Hallelujah Leonard Cohen HallelujahEl Niven and the Alibi — Next To MeFKB — Bright LightsLyra Brown — A Little Vulture Told Me People’s ChoiceFull list online at yeglive.ca Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the YearConch — Alive (feat. Lexi Paz & Stevie Raikou)Dizzy — Ride With MeK-Blitz — Watch You GoMitchell Lawler — Ease UpStr8 Gutta — Chillin’ Wit A Bawse Indie Rock Recording of the YearBrunch Club — Sure, FineLindsey Walker — WindowLusitania Lights — ClassicsMy Sister Ocean — Looking For ConnectionThe New Haunts — Writing on the Wall LEAVE A REPLY Cancel replyLog in to leave a comment Advertisement Latin Recording Of The YearCristian De La Luna — SabesMarc Beaudin — Hecho En La HabanaYordanis Lamoru — Como nadie R&B/Soul Recording of the YearAnn Vriend — All That I CanBoogie Patrol — Man on FireCarmen Lucia — Sweetest ThingsJosh Sahunta — SummertimeLia Cole — Hooked World Music Recording of the YearBardic Form — LonghornElectric Audrey 2 — Accidental BeachFarhad Khosravi — Sleeping in SorrowLex Justice — Crazy WorldMustiboy — Atele feat. Delishears Singer-Songwriter of the YearAyla Brook & the Sound Men — Break Up SongsCeleigh Cardinal — There Ain’t No WayLyra Brown — A Little Vulture Told MeMark Times — SaskatchewineMartin Kerr — Mr Liaolast_img

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.